Love Language: These Five Languages Of Love You Should Know

No matter if you are single or taken – everyone can be happy! It doesn’t matter whether you are in a partnership or not. Nevertheless, you should definitely know your love language. That is, you should know what you value and what is important to you in your partner. That way, the probability is highest that you will soon find your suitable counterpart or that your existing relationship will become even better.

It is not only important and interesting to know what type of lover you are, but also to communicate about it. If your partner knows what you are looking for or what is important to you in a relationship, he can better respond to your wishes and ideas. We explain to you which five different languages of love there are and what makes them!

These five different love languages exist
The different Love Languages give information about how you show your love on the one hand and how you like to get it back on the other hand. They were developed by the couple and relationship consultant Gary Chapman. The background to the whole thing is that two people are unlikely to be able to communicate with each other, or can do so with great difficulty, if they speak two different languages. Therefore, he says, it is important for one of the two to adopt the language of the other. And these are the five different languages of love:

Praise and appreciation
People with this Love Language are especially happy to hear words of praise from others and like to give compliments themselves. If they define something as a gracious gesture, kindness or special achievement, they communicate this to the person. However, this is exactly how they would like to be praised by others. For people of this type it is natural that not only successes and achievements are praised with appreciative words, but also the little things. Here you will find tips on how to express praise and appreciation correctly.

Quality Time
People in this category are most happy when they can spend quality time together with their partner. They find it important that the other person listens and gives them their full attention at that moment. In other words, it’s about time spent consciously together, during which there should be no other disruptive factors. People to whom quality time is particularly important don’t like it when the other person is distracted by their cell phone, social media or other things. They value unrestricted attention and use it to define the quality of the relationship.

If you belong to this category, you love it when your partner does something for your sake – to make your life easier, so to speak. However, you yourself also show your affection by paying attention or being helpful. Helping others is a matter of course for people with this Love Language and they do it gladly. An attention that comes from the heart can be, for example, a soup when the partner is sick or making coffee in the morning. True to the motto: Actions speak louder than words. It’s not about the size of the gesture, but about showing your affection even with small gestures.

Gifts that come from the heart
You feel loved when you receive gifts from your partner. This is less about the value of the gift and more about the thought and creativity behind it. People with this love language like it when a gift is thoughtfully chosen and it shows that the other person knows you. Also, it matters to know that the other person took the time to think about and get the gift.

If you belong to this category, you define your relationship quality by affection. Whether it’s kissing, holding hands, cuddling – the main thing is that you have physical closeness with your partner. For you, affection means almost more than an “I love you”. For you, any tenderness is a much greater proof of love than mere words. The feeling of warmth and security comes to you primarily through physical touch.